PEOPLE / ROWEN MERSH

Rowan Mersh is a textile based sculptor who explores form and fuses concept with technique, emphasizing experimentation as the focus of his practice. A celebrated graduate of the Royal College of Art, Mersh has developed a unique aesthetic, which is at once obvious upon encounter of his various sculptural forms, whether it be textiles, sculpture or any other experimental agenda in which he embarks.

photo_photo_159           photo_photo_158

1. What is your favourite project and why ?

I get something different from every project I embark on so I have no real favourite.

2. What is the latest trend in your industry ?

I don’t follow industry trends so I’m not best placed to answer this. I rarely seek inspiration outside of the physical capabilities of the material I am working with. The vast majority of the materials I have worked with over the past few years are naturally occurring and I primary employ age old artisanal skills with regards to creation of projects. Therefore current trends pass me by for the most part.

3. What are you working on now ?

An installation for PAD Paris (Pavillion des Arts et du Design) to be shown with Gallery Fumi at the end of March. I’m in the early stages of planning for this piece so I can’t say too much!

4. What do you plan for the future ?

After PAD Paris at the end of March I have a Summer show of sculpture and wall based installation with Gallery Fumi in Porto Cervo, Sardina, and PAD London in the Autumn.

Portrait for commissions please contact

www.rowanmersh.com

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 102 other followers

  • privacy policy

  • design by digital devotee
